The SAGAs under Petroleum sub sector and their mandates are listed below:

  1. Kenya Pipeline Company(KPC), established in September 1973 under the Companies Act Cap 486, KPC is 100% owned by the government with its mandate being to provide effective, reliable, safe and cost-effective means of transporting petroleum products from Mombasa to the hinterland…Readmore
  2. National Oil Corporation of Kenya (NOCK) is 100% state-owned corporation established in 1981 and became operational in 1984. Its mandate is oil and gas exploration, importation and sale of petroleum products in order to provide stability in the market. The corporation is also envisaged to be the investment arm of government in the development of oil and gas fields…Readmore
  3. Kenya Petroleum Refineries Limited (KPRL) is 100% state owned limited liability company with its original business being refining of crude oil. Previously, the Company was co-owned on a 50-50% shareholding basis by GoK and Essar Energy Overseas Limited. However, Essar exited in 2016 after the refinery ceased refining operations in September 2013. It changed its model from refining to hospitality for storage and handling of refined petroleum products…Readmore
  4. Energy Regulatory Commission (ERC): ERC was established under Energy Act No. 12 of 2006 as an independent regulatory agency. It has the responsibility for economic and technical regulation of electric power, renewable energy, and downstream petroleum sub-sectors. Its functions also include tariff setting, review, licensing, enforcement, dispute settlement and approval of power purchase and network service contracts…Readmore
  5. Energy Tribunal: This quasi-judicial body was established under section 108 of the Energy Act, 2006. It came into operation in July 2007 to primarily hear appeals against the decisions of ERC. It also has jurisdiction to hear and determine all matters referred to it relating to the petroleum sub sector.